Business ethics

Respecting human rights is one of Eltel’s fundamental business principles.

Eltel is a signatory to the United Nations Global Compact and its ten principles on human rights, labour rights, environment and anti-corruption, which are incorporated into our internal policies. Working with business ethics involves complying with all applicable laws and regulations as a minimum, as well as Eltel’s internal policies and agreements with shareholders, customers and subcontractors.

As a people company, maintaining an awareness and understanding of our governing policies is critical to ensuring business compliance.

Whistleblowing procedure

Eltel’s whistleblowing procedure (issued in accordance with the EU whistleblowing directive) enables employees, partners and customers to report any suspected breach of our Code of Conduct or other policies. Any issue can be reported anonymously via a third-party service provider to ensure anonymity. All issues are investigated on a confidential basis and the results are reported back to the whistleblower and the Head of Audit Committee in accordance with the whistleblowing procedure.

Achievements in 2022

The new whistleblowing procedure (issued in accordance with the EU whistleblowing directive) was rolled out.                                                                                                             

Fair Play employee training was relaunched and the EU General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) training was provided to educate employees on how to safeguard personal data in their role at Eltel.

Business ethics risks

Eltel operates in a competitive industry with low barriers to entry and low margins, which increases the risk of corruption, breaches of competition laws and conflicts of interest. Good ethical behaviour in our operations is promoted by responsible and sustainable business practices, training in the Code of Conduct and supporting steering documents.

Guiding frameworks

UN Global Compact Principles 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 10
SDG 5, 8, 10, 12
ISO 9001
ISO 45001
ISO 14001